Shortlisting school management software is harder than it should be, and the reason has little to do with a shortage of options. It comes down to the fact that every vendor's website reads almost identically. Admissions, fees, attendance, examinations, a parent app, an analytics dashboard: the module lists overlap so heavily that a page from one vendor could be swapped for another without a reader noticing. The words that would separate them, starting with price, are the ones most sites leave out.
This overview compares 10 school management software platforms in 2026 on the details that help you rule options in or out: whether a vendor publishes any pricing, and who each one says it is built for. It is the hub of a comparison series, so it stays deliberately broad. The deeper, single-topic comparisons go feature by feature; this page is for the first cut, when you still have 10 names and need a workable shortlist of three or four.
Who publishes this, and why it matters
ScolaOS publishes this article and is one of the platforms it discusses. That is a conflict of interest, and the honest way to handle it is to say so plainly, then hold ScolaOS to the same standard as everyone else. The ScolaOS profile below names what the product does not do as clearly as what it does.
To keep that promise structural rather than just stated, every competitor fact here comes from the vendor's own public website, and the ScolaOS entry is written from an internal feature inventory rather than marketing copy. No third-party review scores, star ratings or directory listings appear anywhere in this article, by design.
Methodology
Last verified: 20 July 2026
- What is compared: pricing transparency and stated market fit across 10 platforms, plus a short neutral profile of each. Deep feature-by-feature scoring lives in the single-topic comparisons, not here.
- How competitor facts were gathered: from each vendor's own public website on the verification date. Nothing from review sites, listing directories or third-party marketing.
- How the ScolaOS entry was gathered: from an internal ScolaOS feature inventory, so it can state gaps definitively rather than infer them from a marketing page.
- No ranking, no scores: the 10 platforms are presented in alphabetical order. Nothing here is numbered, rated or crowned. There is no winner and no "recommended" pick.
What "not publicly stated" means
Where a vendor does not publish something, this article says "not publicly stated" (NPS) rather than "no". The distinction is important. NPS reflects what a company chose to put on its website on 20 July 2026. It is not a judgement about product quality, and it is not evidence that a feature is missing. Vendors document unevenly, and a capability can be fully built and used every day while sitting undocumented on a public page. Read every NPS as a question to raise in a demo, not as a mark against the product.
Vendor packaging, geography and pricing change often. Confirm current details with each vendor before you decide.
The clearest finding: most vendors do not publish pricing
If one fact from this research is worth acting on, it is this. Of the 10 platforms, only 3 publish any pricing on their public site. The other seven are quote-based, which means a conversation with sales before you can see a number.
That matters for planning. A quote-only model is not a red flag on its own; enterprise software is often priced by student count, modules and deployment, where a fixed list price could mislead as often as it helped. But it does change how you budget, and it makes a like-for-like comparison across vendors slower to assemble.
| Platform | Pricing on the public site |
|---|---|
| Academia ERP | Quote-based. A pricing page exists but shows no figures |
| Blackbaud | Quote-based ("Ask About Pricing") |
| Campus 365 | Published: ₹5,999/month billed yearly (Lite plan, under 300 students); Enterprise quote-only |
| Classe365 | Published: Core from $100/month; add-on modules $75/month each; 15-day free trial |
| EduSys | Quote-based |
| Entab (CampusCare) | Quote-based; the vendor states price depends on school strength and requirements |
| Fedena | Published: $999 / $1,399 / $1,699 per year (Standard / Premium / Ultimate); Enterprise quote-only |
| Infinite Campus | Quote-based; the vendor states 13 releases a year are included at no extra cost |
| PowerSchool | Quote-based. Its /pricing/ page returns an HTTP 404, so no public pricing page exists |
| Vidyalaya | Quote-based. Publishes a pricing model but no figures |
Two details are worth calling out because they are easy to misread. Vidyalaya publishes a pay-per-module philosophy, stating in its own words that "you pay only for the modules you want", but it puts no numbers next to it, so it stays in the quote-based group. And a figure that circulates as EduSys pricing, roughly a dollar to five dollars per student per month, appears on EduSys's site as a general observation about the market, not as its own rate. It should not be quoted as an EduSys price.
For the three that do publish, read the figure as a starting point, not a total: Fedena's tiers are per-year with an Enterprise quote above them, Campus 365's published plan is its entry Lite tier, and Classe365's $100 core sits below add-on modules charged separately. Where pricing is quote-based, this article gives no estimate, because any estimate would be invented.
Market fit: who each platform says it is for
The second fastest way to shorten a shortlist is geography and segment. Several of these platforms are excellent inside a market and simply not available, or not designed, outside it. The table below records what each vendor states about its own scope. Reading it honestly may point you toward a competitor rather than ScolaOS, and that is a fair outcome for a neutral comparison: the right tool is the one that fits your market.
| Platform | Stated market scope |
|---|---|
| Academia ERP | International, weighted toward higher education and universities; also K-12 and training institutions |
| Blackbaud | US private and independent K-12 only, an explicit self-stated scope limit; not public schools |
| Campus 365 | K12, universities, higher-ed and training institutes |
| Classe365 | K-12 through higher education, academies and corporate learning |
| EduSys | India, US and UAE/Gulf locales; states suitability for international, private, IB, unified and charter school districts |
| Entab (CampusCare) | India; CBSE and Indian school operations referenced, no other geography stated |
| Fedena | K12, universities, higher-ed and training institutes; CBSE, ICSE, State Board and IB |
| Infinite Campus | US K-12 districts, regional consortia and state agencies; no international pages found at all |
| PowerSchool | Genuinely international, with regional sites for India, APAC, MEA, LATAM, Europe and Canada; core features include US state reporting |
| Vidyalaya | India-centric, headquartered in Ahmedabad |
| ScolaOS (publisher) | Positioned as Education Infrastructure as a Service; product of Terra System Labs Pvt Ltd |
The two clearest boundaries sit at opposite ends. Blackbaud tells you directly it is for US private and independent schools, and Infinite Campus serves US districts with no international footprint at all. If you are outside the United States, both are effectively ruled out before you look at a single feature. At the other end, PowerSchool maintains regional sites across several continents, but its core includes US state reporting, so an international buyer should ask what that means for their own compliance needs. India-centric platforms (Entab, Vidyalaya) and India-inclusive ones (EduSys, Fedena) will feel native to CBSE, ICSE and state-board operations in ways a US-first product will not.
The platforms, in brief
Each profile below is drawn only from the vendor's own public site (or, for ScolaOS, an internal inventory). Vendor claims that could not be verified, including customer counts and awards, are left out on purpose.
Academia ERP
Academia ERP, from Serosoft Solutions, describes itself as a student information system with a stated weighting toward higher education and universities, while also covering K-12 and training institutions. Its published module set (40 or more) includes SIS, admissions, fee management, exams and marksheets, attendance, a student portal and app, and Outcome-Based Education management. It is delivered as cloud-native SaaS with Android and iOS apps. Pricing is quote-based; a pricing page exists but shows no figures.
Blackbaud
Blackbaud's K-12 software states that it is for private and independent schools in the United States, and explicitly not public schools, which is a genuine self-stated scope limit rather than an inference. Its product family covers an SIS, an LMS, an enrollment management system, billing management and financial aid management, alongside Financial Edge NXT fund accounting and fundraising and advancement tools. The distinctive part is that bundle: an SIS and LMS together with fundraising and fund accounting from one vendor, which maps to how independent schools are actually funded. Deployment specifics are not stated on the pages reviewed, so no cloud-only claim is made here, and pricing is quote-based.
Campus 365
Campus 365 (at campus365.io, and not to be confused with Classe365) presents itself as a school and college ERP for K12, universities, higher-ed and training institutes. Its modules span pre-admission, a built-in CRM, SIS, finance and accounting, an LMS, analytics, timetable, examinations, hostel, library, transport, HR and payroll, and RFID attendance, delivered on the cloud with native iOS and Android apps. It is one of the three platforms that publishes pricing, and notably the only vendor of the 10 that publishes some of its own limitations: it states a no-refund policy once paid, and lists GPS tracking as "coming soon". A buyer will appreciate that candour, and it is worth noting that this GPS gap is shared with at least one other platform in this list.
Classe365
Classe365 is a unified student management platform spanning K-12, higher education, academies and corporate learning. Its modules include CRM and enrolment, SIS, LMS, finance and accounting, fee and invoicing, e-commerce, fundraising, degree audit, alumni and graduation, white-label options and an AI module. It publishes pricing: a Core plan from $100 per month, add-on modules at $75 per month each, and a 15-day free trial with no credit card. It also documents concrete product limits openly, including a cap of 2,000 form submissions on its CRM-Enrol tier and a 3,000-student cap on an alumni add-on tier, with the AI module carrying extra usage charges. Those are scoping facts to plan around, not weaknesses.
EduSys
EduSys presents cloud-based school management software aimed at pre-schools, schools, coaching institutes, colleges and universities, and states suitability across international, private, IB, unified and charter school districts. Its stated module set of 30 or more covers accounting and billing, biometric and RFID attendance, bulk SMS and email, fee collection, LMS, library, online exams, admissions and SIS, with website plus Android and iOS apps. It operates across US, India and UAE locales. Pricing is quote-based; a per-student figure on its site is presented as a general market observation, not as the company's own rate, and should not be read as an EduSys price.
Entab (CampusCare)
Entab's CampusCare is described as a school ERP and student information system on a single secure, cloud-based platform, with capability areas across admissions, fee and accounting, examination and holistic assessment, attendance and transport safety, HR and payroll compliance, an LMS, a website builder, an AI analytics dashboard, a mobile app, library and an AI chatbot. Its distinctive framing is alignment with India's NEP 2020, which the company says was built in from the start rather than retrofitted, mapping the 5+3+3+4 structure and 360-degree holistic progress cards. It offers product variants for enterprise, standard and pre-school segments, and pricing is quote-based, stated to depend on school size and requirements. One caveat on sourcing: the campuscare.in domain was unreachable at verification, so this profile rests on entab.in only.
Fedena
Fedena describes itself as fully web-based school ERP software for K12, universities, higher-ed and training institutes, covering CBSE, ICSE, State Board and IB. It lists 60 named modules across four tiers, is delivered fully web-based with iOS and Android apps and free cloud hosting included in its plans, and it is one of the three platforms that publishes pricing: $999, $1,399 and $1,699 per year for its Standard, Premium and Ultimate tiers, with Enterprise on quote. One unusual detail sits in that Enterprise plan: it includes access to the product source code, which few competitors offer. The company is based in Bengaluru.
Infinite Campus
Infinite Campus is an all-in-one K-12 student information system built for US districts, regional consortia and state agencies, with no international pages found at all, which makes it the most US-centric platform in this list. Its core SIS is complemented by named add-ons including food service, messenger with voice, online registration, payments, and analytics, data, learning and workflow suites. It documents its deployment more clearly than any other vendor here, offering standard cloud hosting and a "cloud choice" option with a separate staging instance and customer-coordinated updates, plus a parent app on iOS and Android. Pricing is quote-based, with 13 releases a year stated as included at no additional cost, and the company describes itself as employee-owned and free of outside investors.
PowerSchool
PowerSchool positions itself as a broad K-12 ecosystem rather than a single product, spanning two SIS products, enrollment, forms, an LMS (Schoology Learning), assessment and analytics, communications and college-and-career-readiness tools. Its SIS capabilities include demographics and enrolment, grades, transcripts and attendance, master scheduling, a gradebook, and compliance with US state reporting. It is genuinely international, with regional sites for India, APAC, MEA, LATAM, Europe and Canada, though the US state-reporting orientation is worth probing if you operate elsewhere. Deployment is cloud and web-based, and pricing is quote-based; its /pricing/ page returns a 404, so there is no public pricing page to consult.
Vidyalaya
Vidyalaya is an India-centric school management system, headquartered in Ahmedabad and founded in 2002, aimed primarily at schools and also colleges and universities. Its module set of around 40 covers admission, attendance, fees, timetable, a Holistic Progress Card, certificates, HR and payroll, transport, library, hostel, alumni and online exams, with Tally and WhatsApp integrations, biometric and UHF attendance, and vehicle tracking. It is delivered on the cloud and web with an iOS and Android app; an on-premise option is not confirmed on its site. Pricing is quote-based, though the company publishes a pay-per-module philosophy without figures.
ScolaOS: the publisher, held to the same standard
ScolaOS is not a traditional school ERP. It is positioned beyond that category as Education Infrastructure as a Service, a product of Terra System Labs Pvt Ltd, which is ISO 9001:2015 compliant, ISO 27001:2022 compliant and Startup certified. Because ScolaOS publishes this comparison, its entry has to be read with more scepticism than the others, so here are both sides.
What it ships. A student information system; an admissions pipeline with a public enquiry form and applicant-to-student conversion with duplicate guards; fee management with four payment gateways; daily attendance; examinations with grade bands and promotion rules; report-card generation as PDFs with QR verification and batch output; an LMS with video transcoding; parent, teacher and student portals; WhatsApp broadcast with templates and delivery webhooks; transport, hostel and library; HR, payroll and accounting; multi-branch operation with branch-copy, step-up authentication and restore points; role-based access control and audit logs; and online proctored exams with geo-tagged staff attendance.
Where it falls short, stated plainly. There are no native mobile apps; ScolaOS is an installable progressive web app instead. There is no GPS or live vehicle tracking (a gap it shares with Campus 365, which lists the same as "coming soon"). There is no visitor management, no alumni management module, and no AI analytics over school data. Email and SMS are transactional only, with no bulk composer, since WhatsApp is the broadcast channel. Attendance is daily rather than period-wise, and there is no school-wide inventory beyond canteen stock. If any of those matters to you, a platform above may fit you better, and this comparison is written so you can see that clearly.
How to shortlist from this list
The two tables above do most of the first-cut work. Here is how to use them, and where to go next.
Cut by geography and segment first. It is the fastest filter and the least reversible. A US-district product will not serve an Indian CBSE school well, and an India-first product will not carry US state reporting. Use the market-fit table to remove anything built for a market you are not in before you compare a single feature.
Decide how you feel about quote-only pricing. Seven of these 10 will not show you a number without a sales call. If a published, self-serve price is important to your process, that fact alone narrows the field to three. If you are comfortable with a quote-based evaluation, keep the wider set and budget more calendar time for it.
Match breadth to how you buy. Some platforms lead with one unified product; others, like PowerSchool, are an ecosystem of products you assemble. Decide whether you want one system or a suite.
Then go deep on the two or three modules you cannot compromise on. Once you have a shortlist, the single-topic comparisons in this series test one capability at a time, which is where a feature name gets separated from a working feature. For ScolaOS specifically, the platform, apps, solutions, security and pricing pages, plus real case studies, let you check the claims above directly.
Frequently asked questions
Does "not publicly stated" mean a platform cannot do something?
No. It means the vendor's own website did not advertise that capability on 20 July 2026. Vendors document unevenly, and a feature can be built and used daily without appearing on a marketing page. Treat every such note as a question for the demo, not as a limitation.
Which platforms publish their pricing?
Three of the 10: Campus 365, Classe365 and Fedena. The other seven are quote-based, meaning you contact sales for a number. PowerSchool has no public pricing page at all; its pricing URL returns a 404.
Is this a ranking, and which one wins?
Neither. Nothing in this article is ranked, scored or numbered, and there is no winner or recommended pick. The platforms are listed alphabetically, and the purpose is to help you shortlist by geography, segment and pricing transparency, not to declare one option above the rest.
Why should I trust a comparison the publisher appears in?
You should trust it only as far as it earns it, which is why the method is stated openly. Every competitor fact comes from that vendor's own public site, no review scores are used anywhere, and the ScolaOS entry names its own gaps (no native apps, no GPS tracking, no visitor or alumni management, and more) as directly as its strengths.
I am outside the United States. Which platforms can I rule out quickly?
Blackbaud states it serves US private and independent schools only, and Infinite Campus has no international presence, so both are effectively out for a non-US buyer. PowerSchool is international but built around US state reporting, so confirm what that means for your compliance. India-centric and India-inclusive platforms will feel more native for CBSE, ICSE and state-board operations.
What is EIaaS, and how is it different from a school ERP?
Traditional school ERPs digitised records and workflows. Education Infrastructure as a Service, the category ScolaOS is positioned in, frames the same operations as connected, real-time, multi-tenant infrastructure that scales the way cloud services do. The competitors in this list describe themselves as ERPs or student information systems, and that is how they are described here.
How current is this comparison?
All facts were verified from vendor sites on 20 July 2026, shown as the last-verified date. Vendor packaging, geography and pricing change frequently, so treat this as a snapshot and confirm current details with each vendor before deciding.
Conclusion
Ten platforms, near-identical module lists, and only three willing to show a price: that is the real starting condition when you shortlist school management software in 2026. The way through it is not to compare every feature at once, but to cut hard on the things that are both knowable and decisive, geography, segment and pricing transparency, until you have three or four names worth a serious demo. Several platforms here will suit schools that ScolaOS would not, and reaching that conclusion honestly is the point of a comparison the publisher is willing to appear in.
When you are ready to test the shortlist, bring your hardest real-world scenario to each demo (illustrative: a mid-year transfer with a sibling discount, a pending fee and a pending exam result) and see which platform handles it without a workaround.
Want to put ScolaOS through that test? Book a demo and bring your toughest case, or read the platform, pricing and security pages first. More answers sit on the FAQ page and across the blog.




