School Fee Management Software Compared: 15 Capabilities, 6 Platforms

S

ScolaOS Team

11 min read
School Fee Management Software Compared: 15 Capabilities, 6 Platforms

Fee collection is the process a school cannot afford to get wrong, and the one where software marketing is least useful. Every vendor site lists flexible fee structures, online payments and automated reminders. Few of them tell you what those words mean in practice.

This article compares 15 fee and finance capabilities across six school platforms, to help you shortlist, prepare demo questions, and spot the gap between a feature name and a working feature.

Who publishes this, and why that matters

ScolaOS publishes this article and is one of the six platforms compared. Read it with that in mind.

Because of that conflict, the ScolaOS entry is held to a stricter standard: checked against the product's source code rather than its marketing pages, and listing what the product does not do alongside what it does. Eight specific gaps are named in their own section below.

Nothing here is ranked. No scores, no stars, no winner.

Methodology

Last verified: 20 July 2026

  • What was compared: 15 fee and finance capabilities, from fee structure setup through payments, receipts, reminders, accounting and refunds.
  • How competitor facts were gathered: from each vendor's own public website. Nothing from review sites, listing directories or third-party marketing.
  • How the ScolaOS entry was gathered: from the ScolaOS codebase, not the ScolaOS website. Where code and marketing would differ, the code won.
  • No ratings, no ranking: no platform is scored or described as better than another.

What "not publicly stated" means, and what it does not

Several cells in the table below read "Not publicly stated."

That means exactly one thing: on 20 July 2026, that vendor's own website did not advertise that capability. It is not a finding that the product lacks it. Vendors document unevenly, and a capability can be fully built and used daily while sitting undocumented on a public site.

Treat every "not publicly stated" cell as a question to ask, never as a mark against the product. Some will turn out to be yes.

Vendor features, packaging and pricing change frequently. Confirm current details with each vendor before deciding.

The comparison table

Capability ScolaOS Fedena Entab CampusCare Campus 365 Vidyalaya Classe365
Flexible fee structures Class, section and student level Stated Stated Stated Stated, incl. student-wise Stated
Concessions and scholarships Per-student, entered manually Stated Stated, with approval Stated Stated Stated
Instalments and part payments Not available Not publicly stated Stated Not publicly stated Not publicly stated Stated
Automatic late fees Yes, one-time only Stated Not publicly stated Stated Stated Not publicly stated
Automated invoice generation Yes, scheduled Stated Stated Not publicly stated Stated Stated
Online payments Razorpay, Paytm, Cashfree Stated, premium module Stated, gateways unnamed Stated Stated, gateways unnamed Stated
Offline payment recording Yes, same ledger Not publicly stated Stated Stated Stated Not publicly stated
Digital receipts Yes, QR-verifiable Stated Stated Stated Stated Not publicly stated
Automated fee reminders In-app today; SMS, WhatsApp and email targeted for July 2026 † Stated Stated Not publicly stated Stated Not publicly stated
Defaulter tracking Yes, with filters Stated Stated Not publicly stated Stated Stated
Recurring mandates and auto-debit Yes, Razorpay only Not publicly stated Not publicly stated Not publicly stated Not publicly stated Stated
Fee to accounting Posts to fee sub-ledger Stated, premium module Stated Stated Stated Stated, after payment
Multi-currency One currency per school Not publicly stated Not publicly stated Not publicly stated Not publicly stated Not publicly stated
Refunds and adjustments Adjustments yes, no refund processing Stated Not publicly stated Not publicly stated Stated Stated, with a documented limit
Multi-branch fee views Per-campus and aggregate Stated Stated, with comparison Not publicly stated Stated Not publicly stated

† Roadmap item, not a shipped feature. Multi-channel SMS, WhatsApp and email fee reminders are a stated ScolaOS release commitment targeted at the end-of-July-2026 release. They are in development and were not code-verified. Today, ScolaOS fee reminders are in-app portal notifications only.

"Stated" means the vendor advertised the capability on its own site on the verification date. "Not publicly stated" carries the meaning set out in the methodology above. The ScolaOS column reads differently on purpose: it was checked against source code, so it can say "yes" or "not available" definitively. The competitor columns record only what each vendor publishes, which is why they never say "no".

Who is not in this comparison, and why

Three well-known names are missing on purpose.

Blackbaud states that it serves private schools in the United States. Infinite Campus has no international presence. PowerSchool was excluded on the same market-availability basis. For an administrator outside that market, none of the three is realistically available to buy, deploy and get support for, so including them would pad the table without helping anyone choose.

Notes on each platform

Fedena

Fedena states flexible fee structures, discounts, automatic late fees, automated invoicing, digital receipts on a customisable template, SMS and email reminders, defaulter tracking, refunds and multi-branch fee views.

The packaging matters more than the feature list. Fedena's payment gateway support and its Tally integration are premium-tier modules rather than core, and the gateways it names are PayPal and Authorize.net. Published pricing is $999, $1,399 and $1,699 per year. If online collection and accounting sync are why you are buying, price the premium tier.

Entab CampusCare

Entab states a wide set of fee capabilities on its own site: flexible structures, concessions with approval and carry-forward, instalment-wise fees, automated invoicing, offline recording for cash, cheque, DD and NEFT, digital receipts, reminders across email, WhatsApp and SMS, defaulter tracking, and multi-branch views including comparison across branches.

For payments it states "all major RBI-approved gateways" without naming any. On accounting it states general ledger sync, bank file export and a Tally module. Refunds are not publicly stated; what it documents is carry-forward. Pricing is quote-based.

Campus 365

Campus 365 states flexible fee structures, concessions including sibling and scholarship discounts by name, automatic late fees, offline payment recording, digital receipts and online payments. The gateway names sit inside an image on the page and could not be read. Ask directly.

It publishes pricing at ₹5,999 per month billed yearly for under 300 students, Enterprise on quote. One self-stated commercial detail is worth knowing before you sign: Campus 365 states a no-refund policy on its own site.

Vidyalaya

Vidyalaya states flexible fee structures including student-wise fees, scholarship and early-bird concessions, automatic late fees, automated invoicing, and online payments via UPI, netbanking, cards and wallets, without naming gateways.

Its offline handling is described in unusual detail: multiple receipt books and bounced cheque alerts. Reminders are stated across SMS, email and app, timed before, on and after the due date. On accounting it states full vouchers, bank reconciliation and a Tally page. Refunds are stated. Pricing is quote-based.

Classe365

Classe365 states flexible fee structures, scholarships, part payments, automated invoicing, defaulter tracking, and online payments via Stripe and PayPal. It is the only platform in this set that states recurring payment plans and subscriptions on its own site. For accounting it states an internal double-entry general ledger that syncs only after payment.

It also documents its own refund limitation more plainly than most vendors would, and the wording is worth quoting exactly: "By refunding a payment, we will just update the invoice status, but we are not currently processing the refund transaction."

That is a useful sentence for a buyer, because it draws a distinction the word "refund" usually hides: whether money moves, or only a status changes. Ask every vendor which one they mean.

On price, Fee & Invoicing and Finance & Accounting are $75 per month each, on top of a core plan starting at $100 per month.

A note on gateways

One correction applies across the category: no Razorpay integration should be attributed to any of the five competitors above. That association circulates only because it appears in Razorpay's own marketing, never on a vendor's product page. If a gateway matters, get it confirmed in writing.

What ScolaOS does well, and where it does not

ScolaOS is Education Infrastructure as a Service, built by Terra System Labs Pvt Ltd, which is ISO 9001:2015 compliant, ISO 27001:2022 compliant and a Startup certified company.

Where it is strong

Fee structures at three levels. Fee plans can be defined by class or category, overridden at section level, and set individually per student, each with its own admin screen.

Payment gateway reconciliation tooling. Reconciliation jobs run six-hourly, with an admin interface for manual triggering, severity filtering and log resolution. None of the five platforms above advertises this on its own site.

A finance audit suite. Daily summaries, receipt register, ledger verification, anomaly detection, change log and exports.

Cross-module expense recovery. Library fines, canteen and meal charges become student expenses and append automatically to the next invoice, instead of being collected in cash at three counters.

Advance and credit handling. An advance and credit ledger with FIFO allocation and reversal, plus a cheque lifecycle that handles bounces with a ledger reversal.

QR-verifiable invoices and receipts. Both verify through public endpoints, so a receipt is checkable without a login.

Dues-based promotion blocking. Promotion can be blocked until dues are cleared, enforced end to end.

Offline and online in one ledger. Counter payments by cash, UPI, card, bank transfer and cheque land in the same ledger as gateway payments. No separate cash book to reconcile.

Where it falls short

These are the gaps, stated plainly.

  • Reminders are in-app notifications today. Two scheduled jobs send portal notifications: one three days before the due date, one weekly for overdue amounts. SMS, WhatsApp and email fee reminders are a stated commitment for the July 2026 release, not a current capability.
  • Fee collection posts to a fee sub-ledger, not the accounting module. Payments post automatically, in the same database transaction, to a balanced double-entry fee sub-ledger. They do not reach the accounting and voucher module, so the finance ledger interface shows nothing from fee collection until an accountant creates the vouchers.
  • No instalment plans. There is recurring period-wise invoicing, and ad-hoc partial payments allocated FIFO. Neither is an instalment plan.
  • Late fees are one-time. A configurable amount with grace days, applied once. No daily accrual, no compounding.
  • Sibling discounts are not automatic. Per-student discounts and scholarships with a reason are shipped, but a sibling discount is applied by hand. The rule-based waiver and approval engine has an API, no interface.
  • No refund processing. Adjustments are shipped: custom fees, pausing, resuming and stopping a plan, and invoice-level discounts. Refunds are a bookkeeping entry only, with no admin interface and no call to the payment gateway.
  • One currency per school. The currency is fixed per school and branch and frozen onto the invoice, with no foreign exchange conversion in the fee path.
  • No side-by-side campus comparison. There is a per-campus view and a flat all-branch aggregate, but campuses cannot be compared beside each other on one screen.

Also worth stating: recurring mandates and auto-debit work through Razorpay only. Cashfree mandates activate, but deductions fail.

How to evaluate this yourself

The table gets you to a shortlist. These questions get you to a decision.

Ask for a demo of the specific capability, not the module. "Show me fee management" produces a tour. "Show me a student who has paid half a term's fee, with a sibling discount and a late fee applied" produces the truth. Bring your own awkward case.

Ask whether payments and accounting are one system or two. This is the most common gap in the category and the one buyers discover last. Ask where a collected fee appears in the books, how soon, and whether anyone must create a voucher for it to get there. Get it demonstrated, not described.

Ask which gateways are actually integrated. Not which are supported in principle, and not which appear as logos. Ask for names, whether the integration is core or a paid add-on, and what happens when a webhook is missed.

Ask whether reminders are in-app or genuinely multi-channel. "Automated reminders" covers both a portal notification and an SMS on the due date, and parents respond very differently. Ask which channels, who pays for the messages, and whether the schedule is configurable.

Price the configuration you will actually run. Several platforms here put payments or accounting in a premium tier or paid module, so the advertised entry price and the price of a working fee operation can differ sharply.

Ask about refunds specifically. Does a refund move money, or only update a status? Both are legitimate designs, but only one saves your accountant a manual bank transfer.

Frequently asked questions

Does "not publicly stated" mean the product cannot do it?

No. It means the vendor's own website did not advertise that capability on 20 July 2026. Vendors document unevenly, and many capabilities exist without appearing on a public marketing page. Treat those cells as questions for the demo.

Why are PowerSchool, Blackbaud and Infinite Campus missing?

Blackbaud states it serves US private schools and Infinite Campus has no international presence; PowerSchool was set aside on the same market-availability basis. A comparison is only useful if a reader can buy what is in it.

This article recommends none. It does not rank or score the platforms. ScolaOS publishes it and appears in it, which is why its own entry documents eight specific limitations rather than none.

Which platforms publish their pricing?

Fedena, Campus 365 and Classe365 publish pricing. Entab and Vidyalaya are quote-based.

Can ScolaOS send fee reminders by SMS or WhatsApp?

Not today. Fee reminders in ScolaOS are in-app portal notifications, sent three days before the due date and weekly once overdue. Multi-channel SMS, WhatsApp and email reminders are targeted for the end-of-July-2026 release: a stated release commitment, not a shipped feature.

What does "posts to a sub-ledger" mean for an accountant?

The money is recorded correctly and in balance the moment it is collected, but it sits in the fee sub-ledger. The accounting and voucher module does not pick it up on its own, so an accountant creates the vouchers that carry it into the finance ledger.

Conclusion

Fee software is bought on a feature list and lived with on the details underneath it. Whether payments reach the books without manual work, whether reminders reach a parent's phone, whether a refund moves money, whether your gateway is in the core plan or the premium one: those details decide how the finance office spends its month.

Use the table to shortlist, then use the demo questions to test what the table cannot tell you. Several platforms here will suit schools that ScolaOS would not, which is a reasonable outcome for an honest comparison.

Want to test the awkward cases against ScolaOS? Book a demo and bring your hardest fee scenario, or read the platform, pricing and security pages first. More answers sit on the FAQ page and in the blog.

Share this article

Found this useful? Pass it on to someone running a school.

S

Written by

ScolaOS Team

The ScolaOS team builds education infrastructure for modern schools.